Home » LIV’s Aussie ‘Ripper GC’ team line-up announced
Featured Global News Golf LIV Golf News Sports

LIV’s Aussie ‘Ripper GC’ team line-up announced


The all-Australian, and newly named, ‘Ripper GC’ have announced its team line-up for the 2023 LIV Golf League overnight.

Captained by Cameron Smith, the team has confirmed that his close friend Marc Leishman, two-time Australian Open winner Matt Jones and 2021 Australian PGA Championship winner Jed Morgan will tee it up all season long for Ripper GC.

Leishman and Jones were part of the ‘Punch GC’ setup in 2022, when LIV Golf made its debut on the world stage, with the foursome rounded out by South Australian Wade Ormsby.

During that time, Morgan played regularly on the LIV circuit before his DP World Tour card for winning the PGA Tour of Australasia Order of Merit came into action, with the Queenslander bouncing between teams. However, it seems now he is set to play out the year on the Saudi-funded circuit fronted by Greg Norman.

Ripper GC will make its debut next week at the LIV Golf League opening event for 2023 in Mexico at Mayakoba’s El Camaleón Golf Course, once a regular PGA Tour stop. The Australian side’s most anticipated appearance to be in April when LIV Golf arrives in Adelaide at The Grange.

Source: Golf Australia